Mackenzie

By Blair Brown, Des Moines CVB Intern

Rihanna, Pink, Jewel, they all have something in common with Michigan’s Mackenzie – they’re known by just one name. In Mackenzie’s case however, one name is all she’s got.

MAckenzie 2Her family carries her birth certificate around to prove she only has one name, just in case. The 14-year-old from Whittemore, Mich., is participating in this year’s National Junior High Finals Rodeo for the first time. She appears in the official rodeo daysheet as Mackenzie Mackenzie because the rodeo program isn’t equipped to handle a contestant with just one name.

After finding her interests sparked in rodeo, she asked her mom to sign her up and began practicing on her family’s horse, Zippo.

“I wanted to do everything,” Mackenzie said. “I want to be a rodeo star.” And she is doing quite a bit. Mackenzie will be competing in goat tying, barrel racing, pole bending, and light rifle shooting. Her first event was goat tying on Monday night.

“My favorite is barrels because I love the feeling of turning barrels, and you’re talking to your horse, and your horse seems to understand what you’re saying,” Mackenzie said, feeling optimistic about her chances this week. “I know that little pony can do it.”

The fact that she is participating in so many events is a perfect example of the ambition Mackenzie has towards life in general. Alongside competing in rodeo, she is an active participant in basketball, track and volleyball, is a member of MRHA and MHRA, attends local fair horse shows where she has won grand champion awards, is a member of 4-H, is on the A Honor Roll, and is student council president. She also likes to draw.

“I’m stuck on drawing horses,” Mackenzie said. “I have been drawing since I was 5. I just taught myself to draw, nobody taught me. I think they’re pretty good.”

Mackenzie 1Mackenzie and her family embarked on a 12-hour trip to the Iowa State Fairgrounds in Des Moines earlier this week. The family is required to travel a lot, considering they live in upstate Michigan, and rodeos are often held downstate, but it is their first time in Iowa. Mackenzie has been making the best of her trip; she has been careening through the campgrounds all week introducing herself to fellow rodeo participants.

“I love making friends,” Mackenzie said.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mackenzie

  1. Bill Thomas

    Great girl!!! Great story

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.